Tehran is the capital of Iran and also Tehran province and located in…

the north of the country. This city with a population of around 8.8 million, is the most populated city in Iran which has the second-largest metropolitan area in the Middle East.

Historically, by the time of the Median Empire, a part of the territory of present-day Tehran was a suburb of the prominent Median city of Raga. It was subject to destruction following the Arabs, Turks, and Mongol invasions.

Tehran has been first chosen as the capital of Iran by Agha Mohammad Khan of the Qajar dynasty in 1796, in order to remain within close reach of Iran’s territories in the Caucasus, before being separated from Iran as a result of the Russo-Iranian Wars.

The capital has been moved several times throughout the history, and Tehran is the 32nd national capital of Iran.

The city was also the seat of the Pahlavis, the last monarchy of Iran. This city is home to many historical collections and museums, including the royal complexes of Golestan, Sa’dabad, and Niavaran, as well as the country’s most important governmental buildings of the modern period.

The majority of the population of Tehran are Persian speaking people, and roughly 99% of the population understand and speak Persian, but also there are large populations of other Iranian ethnicity such as Azerbaijani, Armenian, Lur, and Kurd who live in Tehran who speak Persian as their second language.

Tehran is served by the Mehrabad and Imam Khomeini international airports, the central railway station, the Tehran Metro rapid transit system, the bus rapid transit system and the networks of highways.

Tehran has a semi-arid cold weather with continental climate characteristics and a mediterranean climate precipitation pattern. It can be generally described as mild in Spring and Autumn, hot and dry in Summer, and cold and wet in Winter.

Places to visit:

Jame Mosque Bazaar of Yazd Lari House Lari House Lari House